My Heart
Germany Release Date: 02 September 2011
UK Release Date: 05 September 2011
USA Release Date: 2 December 2011

  1. Hurry, It’s Lovely Up Here (Written by Alan Jay Lerner & Burton Lane) +

  2. Daydream (Written by John Sebastian) +

  3. Way I Dreamed It (Written by Bruce Johnston & Terry Melcher) +

  4. Heaven Tonight (Written by Bruce Johnston) +

  5. My One & Only Love (Written by Robert Mellin & Guy Wood)

  6. My Heart (Written by Bruce Johnston & Terry Melcher) +

  7. You Are So Beautiful (Written by Billy Preston & Bruce Fisher) +

  8. Life Is Just A Bowl of Cherries (Written by Ray Henderson & Les Brown)

  9. Disney Girls (Written by Bruce Johnston) +

  10. Stewball (Traditional Song) ~ [US ONLY TRACK]
    [Duet: Doris Day with Terry Melcher]

  11. My Buddy (Written by Walter Donaldson & Gus Kahn)

  12. Happy Endings (Bruce Johnston & Terry Melcher) +
    [Sung by Terry with introduction by Doris Day]

  13. Ohio (Betty Comden, Adolph Green & Leonard Bernstein)

+ Previously Unreleased Song
~ Previously Unreleased Song – Exclusive Track for the USA Edition Only

Doris Day’s 29th original album features previously unreleased song material which she cut after a brief return to the recording studio during the mid-1980s.

Day’s late son Terry Melcher – who is best known internationally as the producer and songwriter for folk-rock pioneers The Byrds (“Mr. Tambourine Man”) – convinced his dear Mom to undertake these recording sessions under his guise. Six of the new songs contained on “My Heart” originate from these very sessions. Although a few of these recordings were aired during the eighties on Ms. Day’s American chat show, “Doris Day’s Best Friends“, the majority were left in an “unfinished” state until they were polished and perfected by the multi-platinum selling British producer Ted Carfrae who recorded additional orchestrations to complete the songs.

Doris remarks about her new songs: “I had to sing some modern songs…because I had already done all the old ones.”

Ms. Day was fully involved in the music selections for ‘My Heart’ which is notably her first original album for over 17 years (the last being “The Love Album“). As well as the eighties recordings there is also a studio recording taken from one of Day’s 1970s US TV specials plus a trio of other Doris Day classics lifted from the vaults at Columbia – each of these were hand picked by the star for sentimental reasons. The album is dedicated to the memory of  Ms. Day’s son Terry Melcher.

Executive Producers: Bob Bashara and Sam Trust
Original Recordings Produced by: Terry Melcher, Bruce Johnston, Don Genson, Martin Melcher and Irving Townsend
Additional Recording Produced by: Ted Carfrae
Label: Sony Music (Europe) & Arwin Productions (USA)
Format: Audio CD (UK/Germany #88697927752 & USA #ARW-5060)
Highest UK Chart Position: #9